Angel Song by Sheila Walsh & Kathryn Cushman

It’s time for more book reviews!

While I’ve grown to love non-fiction books in the recent years, I still turn to fiction novels every once in a while. On my reading list this month was Angel Song, a novel by Sheila Walsh & Kathryn Cushman. Women would love this book: it has the quintessential combination of heart, heartache, happiness, and hope.

In the book, the main character is Ann Fletcher, a typical New York career woman. She’s an in-demand home stager–a totally cool job, if you ask me–who takes a quick break from her cutthroat world to fly to Charleston to visit her younger sister, Sarah. She expected her sister’s graduation celebration–not a car accident that would lead to Sarah’s death. The tragedy turns Ann’s world upside down, and the woman who thought she could get through and succeed in life entirely on her own starts to find God, through the new friends she ‘inherited’ from her sister, and through some unexplainable events, which can only be attributed to God and His mysterious angels.

It won’t fall under my Best Books of 2010 list, but it was a good, beautiful read. I finished it in two days, which usually means that it wasn’t too heavy and it was entertaining enough to keep me hooked. The ending was somewhat predictable, but the journey was moving and satisfying. The evolution of Ann–from being hardened to tender-hearted–is a process that every woman has to face sooner or later. The story just goes to show how the evolution can be painful, but worth it in the end.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One response to “Angel Song by Sheila Walsh & Kathryn Cushman

  1. I’ve reas this book, it’s an impressive story!

Leave a Reply

