5, 6, 7, 8…

The subject of this post is attributed to an interesting conversation at my friend’s birthday dinner. The dinner was filled with creative types because the celebrant was my uber-talented friend Chinie, who is a theater actress/singer/dance choreographer. Sometime in the middle of dinner, our friend Steve Cadd (who also happens to be a director, singer, actor and pastor–ain’t that an awesome combination?) offered an observation: he said you can tell what industry a person works in by the way he or she counts.

Directors say: “3…2…1…action!”
Conductors say: “1…2…3…and…1!”
Mic/sound system technicians say: “1, 2…1, 2…”
and of course, dancers say: “5, 6, 7, 8!”

We went into a technical discussion about the reasons behind each industry preference, but it just got me thinking about the importance of a prompt, a cue, or a signal to indicate that something important is about to take place.

If these numbers could be translated, they would say:

“Get ready…”
“Be prepared…”
“Check yourself…”
“Take a deep breath…”
“Get into position…”

Anyway, I bring this up because this week is 5-6-7-8 week for me. It’s one of those times that I really need to refocus, prepare, quiet down and be still, which means that I’m drastically cutting my online time. (Do you ever feel the need to have one of these weeks? It can be pretty challenging, but I highly recommend it!)

But that’s me. My blog? It’ll keep on going. :)

In the coming days, you’ll be treated to several great posts from a variety of guest bloggers that I handpicked to take over my blog while I go offline. They’ll be posting about a variety of topics from life, death, love, learning, and a bunch of other thought-provoking stuff. I’ve already read most of them and they’re good. So please keep dropping by the blog and show our guests some love! :)

Alright, here we go! 5, 6, 7, 8…

2 responses to “5, 6, 7, 8…

  1. Hey Liz,

    I just started reading your blog and this post made me laugh because of how true the counting part was. I’m not surprised by the conversations that happen when Chinie or Steve are around.

    Great blog and I’ll be stopping by more often. :)

    • Thanks Tanya! I dropped by your blog too and I added it to my feeds…the food you make looks divine!!! :)

      And yes, Steve comes up with the funniest stuff…I love being around these artists–their energy is infectious!

Leave a Reply

