Why bother changing?

I read that verse a couple of weeks ago and I really liked it. God has a way of making everything beautiful, because right before I read that verse, this was the message that was playing in my head: CHANGE IS SCARY.

Changing can mean…

  • going in another direction
  • taking a step into the unknown
  • moving away from what’s comfortable
  • letting go
  • taking a risk
  • making a new commitment

…and the list goes on.

But on the other hand, Spirit-led change leads to growth, hope, transformation, healing, restoration, renewal, and more.

Change can be scary. But for us humans, it’s often necessary.

I’m going through some changes in my life–some are major, and some are pretty minor. Just to give you an example of one of the minor ones, I’ve decided to make a change on this blog by revising its tagline. This blog’s tagline used to be “Thoughts on walking by faith, seeing with hope, and living with love,” but as important and valuable as these three are, I’ve realized that they simply serve to provide the backdrop and the feel of what this blog has really been about all along: LEARNING, LOVING, LIVING…and SHARING all of that.

So I’m retiring the old tagline, and you know what? This change is making me queasy. It’s making me downright uncomfortable. Why? Because it’s CHANGE! But you know what else I’ve realized? It isn’t a massive change (I’m sure some of you have already been thinking this, haha!). My fear was making the challenge bigger than it actually was. The reality is that it’s just a small change, but it’s a small step that will be a big help in the long run. By making this change, I get to narrow the blog’s focus, so that it makes it clear and simple for myself and everybody else. And, hey, if it doesn’t work, then I’ll just change it again. It may not be the best idea to keep making changes, but the fact is that this blog is a work in progress…just like me. :)

For now, I need to move out of my comfort zone. So today I will push my fear and discomfort aside, and move forward in faith.

How about you? Is there an opportunity for change calling out to you right now?

Leave a Reply

