It’s the best time of the year to buy books…and I can help you save money while you shop!

Ever since I was a kid, there were three events of the year that I always looked forward to: Christmas, my birthday, and the Manila International Book Fair. This year’s book fair begins today (Wednesday, September 15) and ends on Sunday (September 19) and in line with this, I’m so excited because I have some great prizes and special offers (w/something FREE) up for grabs! In a moment, I’ll tell you how you can avail of these.

The Greatest Advice
I was inspired to write this post, not because of the Book Fair, but because around a week ago, one of my favorite bloggers, Tripp Crosby, published a blog post entitled The Greatest Advice I Have to Offer. His advice is simple: When someone recommends a book to you, read it. (He goes on to explain his point, so I highly suggest reading the rest of the post!)

I think Tripp is right. For the most part, I’m really glad I decided to read the books that were recommended (or given) to me. Most of the books have been more than worth my while, with just two to three of them not really meeting my expectations. I like it when I hear someone passionately discussing a book because it tells me that the book is worth investing in.

My Recommendations
In the same way, I love sharing the books that I’m passionate about! So without further ado, here are some of the books that I highly recommend:

  • If you feel like you’re floating (or maybe a little emo): Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller
  • If you feel like you’ve been waiting forever: In the Meantime by Rob Brendle
  • If you’d like to boost your social skills: 25 Ways to Win With People by John Maxwell
  • If you’re married (or you think you’ll be married one day): Love and Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs
  • If you have communication problems in your relationships: The Five Love Languages (there are several different versions) by Dr. Gary Chapman
  • If you’re looking to grow in the area of public speaking: Communicating for a Change by Andy Stanley & Lane Jones
  • If you feel the need to step out of your comfort zone: If You Want to Walk on Water, You Need to Step Off the Boat by John Ortberg
  • If you’ve been leading and you’re feeling the burnout: Leading on Empty by Wayne Cordeiro
  • If you’re a woman, or you’re looking to understand women: Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge
  • If you’re a man, or you’re looking to understand men: Wild at Heart by John Eldredge
  • If you want to renew your perspective on money: The Storehouse Principle by Al Jandl & Van Crouch
  • If you’re feeling like you’re at your lowest point: Plan B by Pete Wilson
  • If you’re feeling stuck in your career: Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado
  • If you need to find a way to effectively pass on your ideas: Made to Stick by Chip and Dan Heath
  • If you’re looking for a print equivalent of a big warm hug: God’s Blogs by Lanny Donoho
  • and of course, the one book that I highly, highly recommend above all else: The Bible (I like the ESV, NLT, TNIV, and The Message versions)

I’ve got more, but I’ll stop there! You can also check out some of the related links I posted at the end if you want more. And in case you were wondering, yes, I do prefer non-fiction books. :)

Ready for the Awesome News?
When I was writing this post, I got the idea to contact our friends from OMF Literature to see if they’d be willing to give away some goodies for you today. I’m thrilled that they agreed!

So first up, I promised something FREE: here’s the link where you can download OMF’s special Book Fair coupon set. Download it now and you’ll have the following:

  • a FREE TICKET to the Manila International Book Fair
  • 30% off on the following books: Back on Track by Ru dela Torre, The Attributes of God (Volume 1) by A.W. Tozer, and 10 Best Decisions A Woman Can Make by Pam Farrell (1 book per coupon)
  • 25% off on any OMF local or international book (1 book per coupon)

Awesome, right? BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!

In addition to that, I’m giving away 5–yes five!–OMF gift certificates worth P500. Most of the books I mentioned on the list are available at OMF, so if you’re chosen to receive 1 of the 5 GCs, you can use your gift certificate to buy one (or more) of the books I mentioned above, or anything else that catches your fancy when you visit one of their bookstores located at Boni Avenue (this is one of my all-time favorite bookstores), Il Terrazo QC, Pergola Paranaque, and Greenbelt 1 (gift certificates are not valid at the Book Fair). Their books are pretty affordable, so you’ll be surprised what P500 can get you!

To get a chance to snag 1 of the 5 gift certificates, you must do BOTH actions:

  1. Leave a comment below and either a) tell me which book on the list grabbed your attention, or b) give me YOUR book recommendation.
  2. Tweet a link to this post. You can do it easily by clicking here. If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can post a link on your Facebook wall by clicking here.

It’s so easy to join! This is only open to Metro Manila residents. I’ll pick the 5 winners at random on Saturday, September 18, at 12 noon, and if you’re one of the people selected, I’ll send you an e-mail or a direct message.

In the meantime, maybe I’ll see you at the Book Fair!

Happy reading! :)

* * *

If you liked this, you might be interested in these related posts:

If you want to receive updates when I publish new blog posts, you can subscribe via RSS or e-mail. You can also follow me on Twitter.

23 responses to “It’s the best time of the year to buy books…and I can help you save money while you shop!

  1. Yay, book recs! I’ll be going to the Manila International Book Fair on Saturday (part of the job, I edit books for a living!) so I’ll be checking these out :) I’m excited!!!

  2. Hey Liz! I appreciate you for sharing this list of recommendations. What really got my attention were the books by John Maxwell “25 Ways to Win With People” and by John Ortberg “If You Want to Walk on Water, You Need to Step Off the Boat”. This pair may guide me on how to strategically and intentionally engage with culture and the community since God values them.. a power point I learned from Training for Victory! Thanks for this! :)

  3. Hi Liz! Thanks for this post and the book recommendations! The title that caught my eye is “PLAN B” =) …So often, things really don’t ever go as planned, and to keep from feeling defeated, deflated and frustrated, it’s really all about being adaptable, flexible and having a Plan B!

  4. 1.) Ms. Caludio :-) One of the books that you recommended which caught my attention is ” Made to Stick by Chip and Dan Heath” to help me find a way to effectively pass on my ideas since I lead the Youth Ministry in our church :-)
    2.) “Road Trip 1” by Pastor Ruru is a good read. It’s the Pinoy version of “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” and we Filipinos could easily relate to his testimony and life story, at the same time be encouraged to put God first and give Him our utmost best in every area of our lives.

  5. Hello Coach Liz! wow, your website is pretty amazing!
    I am so excited for the book fair and I really love to buy a book!
    woah! It’s indeed an amazing news about the gift certificate! yipee!!
    hmm..I am a big fan of Joshua Harris and I always look forward buying his books, maybe that’s the reason why the Dug down deep caught my attention. Mr. Harris’ wisdom (and topics) had helped me change my perspective on issues that challenges me as a christian, it had also helped me to step out of my comfort zone.. ;-)

    God bless you always coach Liz!! mwah! ♥

    • Hi Danah! Thanks! :)

      Sulit yung coupon nila! Did you download it? As for the gift certificate, the winners won’t be able to use it at the book fair though. Pero ok pa rin! :) Will let y’all know on Saturday who won!

      See you soon Danah!!

  6. Hi! was directed to your blog site because I was looking for free entrance tickets to the MIBF. I am going there this afternoon, fyi. :-)

    thanks for the list of books you mentioned above. What caught my attention was the book, “f You Want to Walk on Water, You Need to Step Off the Boat” by John Ortberg because it’s really hard to step out of your comfort zone and one would have to get all the help one needs in order to do so… will try looking for this title this afternoon.

    thanks so much, and thanks, too, for the link to the coupons. I love OMF Lit books, especially their children’s books. I purchased a lot during the start of the school year for our grade three scholars. I especially love the books written by Dr. Luis Gatmaitan and Oh Mateo series. :-)

    • Hi Kaye! The Ortberg book is great…it’s my favorite book of his! :) It’s one of those books that I highlighted almost all the way through, haha!

      • I ended up buying storybooks for the kids, and a few more items, again, for the kids! hay. there were so many books, but alas, so little time to go through most of them. :-(

  7. shempre ang GC ang habol ko no? namiss tuloy kita lizzie! tagal na nung last usap natin! :)) here are the books that caught my attention: (1) If You Want to Walk on Water, You Need to Step Off the Boat by John Ortberg… i’ve always wanted to be a “water walker”. (2) Leading on Empty by Wayne Cordeiro … this one is for my brother. he needs it. :( (3) Wild at Heart by John Eldredge… i LOVE captivating. actually, i got my dad this book for his birthday. but i never read it. i might get myself one just in case may bibigyan ako, basahin ko na rin! and my book recommendation is Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. miss you lizzie! i miss praying with you! :)

  8. I had such a hard time thinking about what else to recommend. Maybe:
    IF YOU’RE FEELING STUCK IN YOUR QUIET TIME WITH GOD: “The Life You’ve Always Wanted” by John Ortberg and IF YOU’RE CALLED TO REACH OUT TO PEOPLE YOU JUST DON’T GEL WITH: “Everybody’s Normal Till You Get To Know Them” by John Ortberg. I know, they’re from the same author, but they really helped me a lot when I got to the point where I needed some good ol’ practical tips on improving my relationship with God and with others =)

    • Oooh. I keep seeing the last one you mentioned, but I haven’t gotten to read it. Which reminds me, he has another good book that just came out: “The Me I Want to Be” :)

  9. I think the Storehouse Principle would be interesting.

    Thanks for holding this giveaway!

  10. i wanna win GCs so here’s my entry:

    The book that grabbed my attention is 25 Ways to Win With People, the book you gave me on your last day at MTV. Coincidentally, I read (again) a chapter last Monday because I need to be reminded to Mine the Gold of Good Intentions. :)

  11. Who wouldn’t want to win a GC? Hehehe..

    Hey Liz! Although my friends have been sharing a lot of things about Blue like Jazz (yeah, this I just have to mention), but what really caught my fancy in your list is the book “If you need to find a way to effectively pass on your ideas: Made to Stick” by Chip and Dan Heath. Pretty interesting..

    I was like in the bookstore last night, and mehn I was so giggling over this book I saw. Hmmm, prolly I’ll be sticking to this new book you’ve recommended.

  12. 1) I loved Captivating :) It was the first book I read where the author actually encourages women to be who they are. You don’t have to be the stereotypical meek and mild woman to be a “good woman”. And it really helped me heal a lot by encouraging me to go through a process of “grieving” for events or situations in my past which had hurt me. All in all I”d say it helped me be transparent and honest with myself and with people.
    2) Another book I’d recommend is “The Shack” by William Young. Such an awesome book! Its a story of how when you are at the lowest point in your life all you need is for God to show up and meet you, and that’s enough.

  13. Hi Liz! Thanks for sharing all these.

    The book that grabbed my attention is the one you recommend if you’re feeling stuck in your career: Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado. Max Lucado is one of my favorite authors and I love this writing style. There are times wherein I feel stuck in my career and I think I need a reminder that sometimes God tells us “not yet” and we have to wait.

    A book I can recommend is another book by Max Lucado, which is It’s Not About Me. It reminds us that we’re not the center of the universe, but the Son is, and our worlds should revolve around Him.

    • Ooh, I’ve read “It’s Not About Me”! It was a gift from a friend, and you’re right, it’s a great one too. :) Thanks for reminding me of that book.

  14. Hi ate liz! I’m really excited about this book fair! I love reading books kasi din. :) Ang hirap mamili ng books you’ve recommended, pero I think I need the book The Five Love Languages kasi as you know, I’m having a little difficulty on expressing my love to other people. hehe. So yun. Thank you so much ate liz for these! :D

  15. Khristine Magallanes

    Hi Liz! I’m grateful I came across with your post just when I needed it. It lifted me up. I do have some of the books you recommended and others too. However, I haven’t read or finished any yet. :( The great thing it will change NOW. For I will start to read and finish each one of them because of your inspiration. Thank you! These books I’d like to have for I know it can really help me because I’m in those state or that’s how I feel at this point in time: If you feel like you’re floating (or maybe a little emo): Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller
    If you feel like you’ve been waiting forever: In the Meantime by Rob Brendle
    If you’d like to boost your social skills: 25 Ways to Win With People by John Maxwell
    If you’re married (or you think you’ll be married one day): Love and Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs
    If you have communication problems in your relationships: The Five Love Languages (there are several different versions) by Dr. Gary Chapman
    If you feel the need to step out of your comfort zone: If You Want to Walk on Water, You Need to Step Off the Boat by John Otsberg
    If you’re feeling like you’re at your lowest point: Plan B by Pete Wilson. All the best! Thanks again!

  16. What up Liz! I hope this text finds you well.. :)

    One of the first books i read after being in church was Wild at Heart by John Eldredge but i do have a couple of the ones you have on the list. It’s nice to see ’em categorized.

    Apart from the Bible, the one with maxwell commentaries come in handy too, one of my favorite books i highly recommend is Counterfeit Gods by Tim Keller. Light read, pop culture references, scriptural foundations, ultimately though its a nice checkpoint. Happy weekend :)

Leave a Reply

