Words I’d like to teach to my future kids

There are some words that I’ve known and used all my life but I didn’t really fully understand. I don’t want it to be that way with the kids that I hope I’ll have one day. I’d like to have the chance to sit down with them and talk to them about words and ideas that I value, in the hope that, as they grow up, they would value them as well. I want to be able to help them define these words, instead of letting the media or their surroundings confuse them on what these words really mean.

Come to think of it, there are so many words, but I stopped before my list went any longer. Here are the ones that came to mind:

And just in case you can’t see the graphic, here are the words again:
Bless • Blessing • Compassion • Dream • Faith • Family • Forgive • Generosity • Grace • Gratitude • Honor • Hope • Humility • Invest • Joy • Justice • Laugh • Lead • Learn • Listen • Love • Mercy • Patience • Perseverance • Preserve • Purpose • Respect • Serve • Service • Stewardship • Success • Trust • Understand • Worth

Until that time comes, I’ll just have to practice! Tomorrow at Kids Church, we’ll be talking about another valuable word: DEVOTION. :)

How about you? What are the words you’d like to talk about with your kids?

4 responses to “Words I’d like to teach to my future kids

  1. Ronnel Golimlim

    Thanks for this blog…ill join you in this advocacy

  2. That’s a great list of virtues. If a kid can get those down, he or she should be in great shape. It’s awesome to take biblical virtues and discuss how they have played out within the lives of your kids or your family story. You could add initiative, individuality and the overarching theme of wisdom, but that’s a pretty complete list you have. Good stuff.

    • Thanks!

      Initiative, individuality, and wisdom…great suggestions! :) I find it fun to talk about things like these with kids, and it’s also a fun challenge for adults when we need to explain complex words in simple terms. I find that, along the way, my mind is being renewed too!

Leave a Reply

