Find Your Strongest Life by Marcus Buckingham + my Tell Me Thursday answers

Scroll down for the review!

Yesterday, I asked some Tell Me Thursday questions, which have to do with my book review for today (if you’re a woman, you definitely want to hear about this book). But before I get into that, I promised to share my own answers:

1) My favorite toy when I was a kid: My Care Bear Wish Bear. I loved the Care Bears and I thought they were real. Whenever I was on a plane ride, I would sit by the window seat to look for Care-A-Lot.

2) My second home: Like Cyndi, I like to think of the church that I go to as my second home. More than anything, it’s because of the wonderful people that I see whenever I’m in the building. Oh, and I love the food they serve for merienda (ginataan and turon!) at the basement cafeteria, too!

3) My comfort food: Breakfast food! I love waffles, bacon, eggs, cereal, muffins, and I can go on and on and on…

4) What I want to do if I could take a break from what I needed to do: I would escape to one of my favorite secret spots to get some peace and quiet. And just stay there, without worrying about the time. I would stay there and just think…pray…maybe read, too.

5) What makes me smile: Downtime with my nephews. I love that moment when they’ve stopped running around and they’re just sitting still beside me. It usually only happens when we’re watching TV or when they’re busy playing video games. My 2-year old nephew loves to crawl into my lap with his bottle of milk and lean his head against me. Happy times.

* * *

Now the reason why I asked those questions was because thinking about what makes us happy–what makes us feel strong–is one of the key parts of living a strong life, according to the book Find Your Strongest Life: What the Happiest and Most Successful Women Do Differently by strengths guru Marcus Buckingham.

Most women I know (myself included) grew up with the illusion that we need to live “balanced lives”. The question is, what does that look like? Have you ever really, truly, felt “balanced”?

Buckingham says, “So often you’re told to strive for balance. But balance is the wrong target. Balance is almost impossible to achieve and not fulfilling when you do.”

In the book, Buckingham addresses the common problems that women have, and offers some mindset-changing insights on how to live differently. Watch this video to know more:

My verdict: I love Buckingham’s idea of living an intentionally imbalanced life. It’s such a refreshing and freeing perspective that makes so much sense. After reading this book, I was able to rearrange my schedule in a way that opened up time for more “strong life” moments, like spending time with my nephews, taking road trips, and enrolling in classes that I knew I would enjoy. This book inspired me to take a photography class! Whenever I find myself feeling weary again, I go back to the principles I learned in this book. When I think about it, the book can be summed up in just a few paragraphs. If you don’t have the time to read it, you can just skim through the important parts and you’ll pretty much get the gist.

Give it a try: Take the free Strong Life Test and browse through the book preview here. (By the way, I wouldn’t take the test as gospel truth, though. I took the test twice and had different results each time, both of which could apply to me. I  just read both profiles in the book and took the recommendations with an open mind.)

Think about it: What makes you feel strong?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

* * *

If you want to receive updates when I publish new blog posts, you can subscribe via RSS or e-mail. You can also follow me on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

