What’s one thing you could do today that could significantly affect your tomorrow?

So much to say, so little time. There’s much to say about my trip, but I need to save that for a later post and take this time to share what’s been on my mind.

Coming home was arriving in the midst of typhoon season. I mean that metaphorically AND literally. Typhoon season has arrived here in the Philippines, and I do find myself struggling to make the most of the sunny days while bracing myself and keeping up with the storms. Again, I mean that literally and metaphorically.

So to cope, I make to-do lists. I love making these things. But you know what? Sometimes they don’t help. Sometimes they look overwhelming, and sometimes, the items on the list feel like the endless battering of the typhoon winds. Seriously? I am not superwoman. Not even close. I struggle with being distracted, lethargic, selfish, and impatient, among many other ugly stuff. Yup, I said it.

Unfortunately, there are times when the list just keeps getting longer. We think we’re working on crossing off items on the list, but sometimes, we end up lengthening that list with solutions and fixes and efforts to supposedly limit our problems and struggles. In the end, we’re just adding to chaos.

So what’s there to do?

If you could reduce your list to ONE thing–ONE priority–that could change the course of your storm…what would that one thing be?

Let’s look at this story found in the Bible:

As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he saidBut Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Does this sound familiar? I always fall into the trap of being like Martha–distracted, worried, and upset. But this week, I was reminded to take my cue from Mary, and take the time to sit at the Lord’s feet and listen. I don’t have all the solutions to my problems but He does. I can’t control every single factor surrounding me, but He can. I don’t have the strength and energy to keep me joyful and productive, but He does. But more than what He can give me, I am nothing without Him, period. I need my Father.

Do you need Him? What does that one thing look like for you? Does it mean you need to turn off that car radio? Does that mean you have to turn off your mobile phone for a while? Does that mean you need to hide your to-do list for the afternoon?

Let’s give it a try. :)

Leave a Reply

