Plan B by Pete Wilson

One of the best books I read while I was on this trip is a book called Plan B. At the end of this post, I will tell you how you can have a chance to get a copy of this book for free (if you reside in Metro Manila)!

Here’s the gist of the book:

I love how God’s timing is always perfect. When I first got this book, I wasn’t in the mood to read it, but when I finally did, I’m glad I got around to it.

Suffering and pain are both inevitable. Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble.” (John 16:33) Sometimes the trials and tribulations seem to turn my world upside down that I don’t know what to do, and I end up sinking into a dark and desolate emotional place. When I find myself in a place that I didn’t expect to be, a place I didn’t want to be, I search, plead, and beg God for answers. And when they don’t immediately come, I get frustrated and depressed. Does this sound familiar? Does this happen to you?

Pete Wilson does a great job capturing the emotions behind the so-called nightmares that we experience through his own stories, and other real-life stories of people who went through their own seasons of great difficulty–the ones they didn’t ask for and they didn’t expect. As I read them, I, too, wondered about the answers, explanations, solutions…

But what if we didn’t need answers? What if there was something better than getting easy answers and quick fixes? Jesus did say we will go through trouble in this world, but we often miss the second part of the verse: “But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

The book goes into what that second part means for us and what it looks like and feels like in our lives. It isn’t one of those books that offers paint-by-numbers solutions to our problems, but it does go straight to the heart of who God is and what He has done and what He continues to do for us. It’s an easy read, and if I were you, I’d keep a highlighter within your reach. For many people, this book is an invitation to hope once again. I highly recommend it, and it’s one that I’ll be reading over and over again.

For more information on the book, go to http://www.planbbook.com. You can also download a sample chapter here.

* * *

I’ve got one copy of the book to give away! To get a chance to snag it, leave a comment below and either:

a) Tell me why you want the book
or
b) Give me a topic that you want me to write about (or a question you want me to answer) on this blog.

On Monday, July 12, I will select one person at random to get the free copy, and I’ll notify the winner through email. It’s really easy! Sorry, but it’s only open to those within Metro Manila. And that’s because…I’ll be back home in the Philippines next week. :) More on that in my next post!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

6 responses to “Plan B by Pete Wilson

  1. a) I want to have the book after reading your post about it. i firmly believe the book is a must-read especially for us Christians (and even non-Christians) because of its timeliness, universality, and relevance in our lives. There are many books out there but there are few books which can have all the characteristics i mentioned above at the same time. I hope that when i get the book, i can also lend it to those in need (particularly to my friends who face the same thing).

  2. haha, I wanted to leave a good comment but I’m giving way to Joan for such a great answer =)… See you next week Liz, so excited to see you back =)!

  3. Wow, this book sounds great. I hope I win. :)

    And I really want to know… Not all days are the same, especially when it comes to work. Of course you always aim to do the best you can, but what are the things you do to ensure that you do your work well, you don’t fall into the pitfalls of being “tamad,” etc. ?

    Like right now, I do love, love, love what I do, but there are just things that get to me that could potentially ruin the entire week or month. How do you keep your head together despite the busy-ness? :)

  4. Thanks for the kind remarks Lizette. So glad you enjoyed the book.

Leave a Reply

