BOOK REVIEW: Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence by Sarah Young

I haven’t read a devotional in a while, and I miss having one. One of the reasons why I was able to get into reading the Bible was because of reading devotionals. My first devotional gave me an introduction to God’s heart when my mind couldn’t quite process yet the words I was reading in the Bible. Ultimately, it led me to open up my Bible more and more until it became a habit I now can’t live without. :)

The devotional I’m reading now is called Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence by Sarah Young. This devotional is unique because each entry is written as if Jesus himself was speaking to the reader. I can’t describe the devotional any better than what’s written in the Amazon product page: “After many years of writing in her prayer journal, missionary Sarah Young decided to listen to God with pen in hand, writing down whatever she believed He was saying to her.  It was awkward at first, but gradually her journaling changed from monologue to dialogue.  She knew her writings were not inspired as Scripture is, but journaling helped her grow closer to God.  Others were blessed as she shared her writings, until people all over the world were using her messages.  They are written from Jesus’ point of view, thus the title Jesus Calling.”

God speaks, it’s just that some people don’t recognize His voice. Some think that He speaks like a killjoy of sorts, or someone who preaches haughtily to the world from a high seat of power. My experience of God speaking is completely different. I know Him to be warm, encouraging, passionate (especially if I’m drifting), but always truthful, and always loving. Of course, my ears weren’t always attuned to His voice. A combination of being still, desperate, eager, and expectant, coupled with times soaked in the Bible has helped me over the years to recognize the voice of God. And until this day, my ears still need fine tuning. Just like any relationship, there’s more to learn as time goes by. :)

This devotional is a great way to discover or rediscover what God sounds like, but just know that it can’t replace the Bible–the author says the same thing too. That being said, you can let the words from this devotional sprinkle your soul. To describe it one word, I’d say it’s refreshing. :)

If you’d like to preview the book, you can do so here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

