Great stories found in Central Park

Long before Twitter was born, people were already telling great stories with 140 characters or less. But instead of broadcasting them on the World Wide Web, they put them on Central Park benches.

I fell in love with Central Park from the first moment I laid eyes on that place in 2002, just like billions of others who went before me. When I’m in New York, you can find me there at least 5 times in a week–sometimes I’d be jogging, taking photos, reading in a nice and quiet spot, or simply walking, taking in all the beauty of God’s creation.

I always had a fondness for the park benches. On most of the benches around the park , there are plaques with inscriptions, and I always found them fascinating. My dream is to one day have one of my own. :)

On this trip, I decided to take photos of as many of the interesting ones as I could and share them with you. Some of them are cute and obvious, but some need to be understood in the context of a series, so if you don’t get it right away, click on the next one. And pay close attention; even the dates tell a story. You’ll find that there are stories of love, hope, tragedy, friendship and more. I leave it up to you to read between the lines and imagine the stories behind them all.

Trouble viewing the slideshow? Click here.

If you could get a park bench plaque, what would yours say?

For more information on adopting a bench in Central Park, click here, or to know more about the plaques, check out this article from the New York Times.

* * *

If you want to receive updates when I publish new blog posts, you can subscribe via RSS or e-mail. You can also follow me on Twitter.

2 responses to “Great stories found in Central Park

  1. about 4 years ago when i was still living in New York, I chanced upon the bench with the “one day V.L shall propose marriage to H.R.H and one she will say yes” plaque. and i photographed them and they still hang on my wall. and reading this article today just brought it all back full circle. thank you!

Leave a Reply

