Cherishing TODAY.

After a little over a month here in the US, this is what I’ve come to learn. It’s one of those timeless lessons, the kind that I can learn over and over again throughout my life and yet still manage to forget. I came here with questions, and hoping for answers, but I got revelations instead.

Here I was, hoping to arrive at a destination point in my life, only to be reminded that God does not bless the destination, but He’s already blessing the journey, because he’s already blessing us. I was powerfully reminded that it doesn’t matter so much where I go but what matters more is who I become. I was so focused on DOING–figuring out what I needed to do (that day, that week, that month, for the rest of my life), forgetting that God cared more about my BEING than my DOING.

And so the last month has been a wonderful process of being totally immersed in God’s work of loving and transforming me and my sometimes stubborn heart. It hasn’t always been easy (you would not believe some of the stuff that happened to me even if I could tell you), but every day has been filled with His sovereignty and grace.

Oftentimes, it’s still difficult because I always feel like I’m floating around, and my worried self always agonizes over it. But time and time again, through different situations and different people, I was reminded of all that I just highlighted up above: that God is already in the journey, and that the destination is overrated. My need to have a destination was like having an idol in my life that. It was like chasing the wind. I will never be happier than when I am with God, and He is already with me today. And so I was reminded to cherish each and every single day, and stop focusing and yearning for what I don’t have, lest I miss what God is already doing. And what a fool I would be to miss it, because God has been so amazing every single day! His love and faithfulness never cease to blow me away.

How about you, what has God been telling you lately? Do share, I’d love to hear about it!

* * *

If you want to receive updates when I publish new blog posts, you can subscribe via RSS or e-mail. You can also follow me on Twitter.

One response to “Cherishing TODAY.

  1. This hit me like a ton of bricks… in a good way… left no bruises :-)

    “The destination is overrated”. What an awesome revelation indeed.

    Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God”. To the human mind, what an irony: a “journey” that is made while staying still. But indeed, as that verse continues on to say: “(He) will be exalted among the nations, (He) will be exalted in the earth.”

    And that, after all, is what everything is all about: Honoring God with our lives. And even this life is not “ours” to claim ownership over anyway.

    Psalm 48:14 “For this God is our God for ever and ever; He will be our guide even to the end.”

    All praises and honor to our loving and gracious Lord, who loves us despite our feeble insistence on following our own roadmaps over this journey which He owns completely.

    Blessings to you Liz for sharing this awesome insight.

Leave a Reply

