With a little help from my friends! (Part 1)

In just a few days, I’m leaving for a two-and-a-half month trip around the US. It’ll be the longest amount of time away from the Philippines for me since 2002. While I believe it’s going to fly by fast, the extended time away gives me a good excuse to meet up and catch up with friends before I go. And by God’s grace, these last few weeks, everyone’s schedules and plans just fell into place. It’s a blessing to be able to spend time with the people I love.

So from now until the day I leave, I’d like to tell you more about some of my friends who bring so much joy, wisdom, laughter, love, and spice in my life!

1) My childhood friends – When I was a still a child, there were no Playstations or Xboxes, cellphones or iPads, so if you wanted to entertain yourself after school or during the summer, you had to go out and spend time in the village park. In our village, there were around 20 to 40 young people (ranging from 6 years old to 26 years old) who would hang out in the park day in and day out, under the watch of the coolest village administrator around, Mang Nelson. He would treat us like his very own children, introducing every neighborhood newbie to the other kids, and coming up with activities that would get us to come out and play. He was like a father and coach to all of us. So everyday during the summer, the boys would play basketball, the girls would play volleyball, and we would have bike rides, water fights, and games of truth or dare in between. Those were GREAT times. We all grew up and most of us have moved out, but the great part is that we’re all friends for life. At least, those who haven’t fallen off the face of the earth and are still connected on Facebook are, haha. A couple of weeks ago, one of the girls (Ethel) was in town (visiting from the US), so some of us girls met up and had a reunion. It was as if we just picked up where we left off.

L-R: Anna, Steph, Ethel, me, Shirley, Mel

2) The a-Dazers Back in college, I was active in a group called Days with the Lord. “Days”, as it is nicknamed, can be found in most campuses here in the Philippines, so to identify which community was ours, we were called the “A-Days” community. Don’t ask me why, because the explanation will take forever. :) Though I am no longer active in the Days community, I am glad to still see my closest friends from A-Days regularly–at least we’ve got most of the holidays and special occasions covered, haha! We spent Maundy Thursday as a post-birthday celebration for our friend, Jem. We spent the rest of the day just enjoying each other’s company in Starbucks. Good times. :)

L-R: Ivan, Bones, Jem, me, Archie, Alnair, Parx, Leslie

Coming up on the next blog posts…my high school friends, my former colleagues at MTV, the wonderful women that surround me, and more!

Who are YOU grateful for today? :)

One response to “With a little help from my friends! (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Santillan and Bains Win ClayCourt Nationals | Junior Tennis Australia

Leave a Reply

