NKJV Greatest Stories of the Bible

If you ask me, as much as I love hundreds of books and movies, I still believe the Bible holds the greatest stories in history. The problem for me is that there are far too many stories for me to keep track of (I can’t remember where to find them all!). Enter the NKJV Greatest Stories of the Bible collection. In theory, it sounded like a good addition to my little library: all the greatest stories of the Bible in a storybook format. So when I had the opportunity to review it, I welcomed the chance.

My first thought? I wish it had illustrations. Now THAT would really make it a storybook for keeps! Sadly, the entire book is just filled with text. However, I like the fact that the stories are easy to find, thanks to a simple but comprehensive index at the back of the book. Want to remember what happened to Daniel in the lion’s den but don’t know where to find the story in the Bible? Just go and check the index! Easy as 1-2-3. I like it. It’s also nice to open it up before I go to sleep, as if I were to read a bedtime story to myself. (And when I have kids one day, I’m sure I’ll do the same for them, too!)

However, I’m not a huge fan of the NKJV translation. While it’s essential for some people, I still need time to get used to it, having been used to the NIV/TNIV, NLT, and The Message. I like exploring different translations of the Bible though, so I’m still going to give it a chance.

I hope they come up with a small gift book or pocketbook version that can be carried around. Unfortunately, the bulkiness of this book ensures that it’s not leaving my room anytime soon. Here’s hoping I don’t forget about it!

One response to “NKJV Greatest Stories of the Bible

  1. I like NKJV. It’s one of my favorite bible versions. I also like NLT and of course, NIV. :)

Leave a Reply

