Focusing on the present

I’m currently reading Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On: Trusting God in the Tough Times by Stormie Omartian. It’s a nice book to read, and I’m already down to the last chapter. Today’s notable quote from the book:

“Along with not looking back, it’s not good to look too far ahead, either. Doing so may cause you to worry about where you think you should be, and that can be overwhelming too. Looking back, you see all that you didn’t do. Looking too far forward, you see all you think you can’t do. It’s best to embrace the step you’re on and say, ‘God, give me the ability to do what I have to do today.'”

One response to “Focusing on the present

  1. I read one of her books when I was in college about how to eat well. I enjoyed it. I am all for focusing on the present indeed – some of us tend to brood on the past or worry about what might happen when what we do at this moment is the only thing we can be certain of. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

