Where to look: Past, present, or future?

Did you have a past life? I feel like I had one…or at least, two. :)

There was the time I lived in New Jersey/New York. I took a certificate course in publishing after I graduated from college. I loved living in New York. I loved that you could just walk out the door and go anywhere you wanted to, and try something new without much effort. Just walk on the sidewalk, hop on the subway, and off you go.

New York taught me about how stepping out of my comfort zone could be so rewarding and beautiful.

10-31-02-035

One of my favorite places on earth: Central Park

n518889038_1159660_3670

The view from my dorm room @ Furnald Hall, Columbia University

n518889038_1159657_6054

My beloved bosses during my internship: Tara & Jirina

Then there was the time I was working in the media.

DSCF2525-Small

One of the first events I worked on: MTV Pilipinas 2004

MTV-Nick-Asia-MarComms-Team-Small

MTV & Nickelodeon Asia Pacific Marketing Communications team, circa 2004

n518889038_1159658_7822

Red carpet walkthrough at MTV Movie Awards 2005 @ The Shrine Auditorium, L.A.

With Summit's super Media Relations team, circa 2006

With Summit's super Media Relations team, circa 2006

This season taught me a lot of things…one of them was realizing that God can work outside of your assumptions and expectations and bring you places you never imagined.

I’ll stop myself from getting into how much of a different life that was. Sometimes I find myself shaking my head…it all seems surreal now. There are some parts I miss sometimes…I miss the States, I miss the people I worked with, I miss the random and surreal experiences. But God had a purpose for each season in my life, and I know that–in God’s perfect time–more things will make sense. In the meantime, my prayer is to live my life to the full right now. Not looking back, not even looking too far ahead, but embracing every second and every minute of this gift called TODAY.

“For everything there is a season,
a time for every activity under heaven.
A time to be born and a time to die.
A time to plant and a time to harvest.
A time to kill and a time to heal.
A time to tear down and a time to build up.
A time to cry and a time to laugh.
A time to grieve and a time to dance.
A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.
A time to embrace and a time to turn away.
A time to search and a time to quit searching.
A time to keep and a time to throw away.
A time to tear and a time to mend.
A time to be quiet and a time to speak.
A time to love and a time to hate.
A time for war and a time for peace.

What do people really get for all their hard work? I have seen the burden God has placed on us all. Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end.”
– Ecclesiastes 3:1-11

Leave a Reply

