What a night! :)

Today, I decided to take a Sabbath rest, since I didn’t get to rest much last weekend. I had a lunch date with my nephew, Tristan, then went off to Greenhills, walked around the bookstore, and had my favorite Sunrise drink at Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. I was hooked up with the new tunes on my Shuffle (thank you, Ganns! REALLY! I love ’em all!) Then I went to the Fort and hung out for a bit with my other nephews, Migo and Javi. Javi is 1 year and 3 months old already and he can walk all over the place! I’m amazed at how fast he’s grown.

But the highlight took place in the evening. I decided to drop by University of Makati. Every Wednesday night, Every Nation Campus Ministries has a youth event in the mini-theater. Music was great, message (by Pastor Robert “Rockstar” Gonzalez) was powerful, but the best part was that there was a super surprise!

Pastor Robert’s message was about the pursuit of purity. At the end of his message, he called up one of our campus ministers and one of my co-teachers, Onie, to give her testimony. Onie is 29 years old, and all her life, she has never had a boyfriend…that is, until March of this year. Her first boyfriend, Keith, was a former campus minister and is now the senior pastor of Victory Iloilo. During her testimony, she was sharing about how waiting and staying single all these past years was tough, but by God’s grace, she was able to wait. She talked about how she wanted her first boyfriend to be the one she’d marry. And she talked about Keith and how he’s a man who loves God.

Pastor Robert’s reaction? “Wow! Kikiligin si Keith pag marinig nya yang mga sinabi mo! Tawagan nga natin…” (Rough English translation: “Wow! Keith will get all giddy when he hears all of those things you said! Let’s call him…”) At this point, Onie thought that Keith was still in Iloilo, where he’s based.

IMG_6891

Calling Keith...

IMG_6894

Keith on speakerphone...

IMG_6895

SURPRISE!

Yep, Keith arrived with a dozen roses and the entire room screamed with delight, haha. But wait…there’s more!

IMG_6928

He busted out a box! :)

IMG_6931

This is it! The ENTIRE room was screaming at this point :D

IMG_6944

SO HAPPY :)

It was truly amazing :) I got all teary-eyed watching it! Onie is incredibly nice and sweet, so I’m really so happy to see her have this beautiful and blessed moment that God had reserved and planned for her. :) And a guy who knows how to make a killer proposal gets two thumbs up from me! Good job, Pastor Keith!!!

This leads me to share this verse that came up during my quiet time this morning.

“Many, LORD my God,
are the wonders you have done,
the things you planned for us.
None can compare with you;
were I to speak and tell of your deeds,
they would be too many to declare.”

-Psalm 40:5

Thank you, Lord, for making it so real today. :)

Leave a Reply

