On stewardship.

I’m pretty sure that one of the best ways I learn is through reading. I love reading. I love the feel of new books, and I nearly get goosebumps every time I enter large bookstores. I also make it a point to read as many books as I can on topics like strengths development/maximization and purpose discovery (I gravitate towards those that are Bible-based), because these are topics I use most often when I do talks and workshops.

Right now, I’m reading the latest book from Erik Rees called Only You Can Be You. He wrote one of my all-time favorite books, S.H.A.P.E. (thanks to Carisse and Clint who made it possible for me to discover and read S.H.A.P.E.!).

I’m just in the introduction and I already found something that made me stop. I really want this to go deep into my heart.

“Stewardship is not ownership. An owner takes control and often focuses on blessing himself first. An owner looks to gain more for himself, while a steward aims to gain more for his master–more money, more time, a higher return on his investment. It’s vital that we remember we’re stewards, not owners–not even in our own lives.”

Wow. There are so many times I forget this; it’s good to be reminded…

Image of books courtesy of http://www.artsjournal.com.

* * *

If you liked this, you might be interested in these related posts:

If you want to receive updates when I publish new blog posts, you can subscribe via RSS or e-mail. You can also follow me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

