I ♥ the youth! (DAY 1 of the 30-Day Blog Challenge)

As I mentioned in my last post, I decided to take on Mariel‘s 30-Day Blog Challenge. My problem is that I wanted to start blogging about A LOT of different stuff that I didn’t know where to start! So I decided to ruthlessly make some edits and save the rest for the other days.

So now I’m down to two things that I wanted to blog about, mainly because these two events made me happy this week.

The view from our classroom at the University of Makati

The view from our classroom at the University of Makati

1. I started teaching (or ‘coaching’, as we like to call it) at UMAK (that’s University of Makati) with ‘Coach’ Gabby of ENCM last Thursday. Our topic was about Relationships: identifying our key ones and recognizing the realities of relationships. I jumped into the middle of the course though–the past few weeks, they’ve been discussing Identity and Internal Government (great stuff!). I’m glad my schedule was freed up so that I could finally join them once a week. I’m looking forward to the next couple of weeks because we have more great topics to talk about…all the stuff I wish I learned about earlier! I’m also thrilled that we’re assigned to a class filled with Marketing students…I really do hope to get to know the students better. :)

2. The RepubLIKHA team went to the Gawad Kalinga-Poveda site again yesterday. It was great to be back! This time around, we taught the preschool kids about Tempo. The kids are awesome and the session was lots of fun. After 2 hours with them, we stayed to have lunch with their parents to get to know more about their community and their needs as parents, especially when it comes to educating their children.

RepubLIKHA team w/the parents from GK-Poveda

RepubLIKHA team w/the parents from GK-Poveda

Carisse, teaching the kids the Watermelon song!

Carisse, teaching the kids the Watermelon song!

Teaching the kids how to make homemade shakers

Teaching the kids how to make homemade shakers

More on our RepubLIKHA-GK day here: http://republikha.org/blog/2009/08/09/team-teaching-at-gk-poveda/

These two events got me thinking about how grateful I am to have the opportunities to be around kids and teenagers. They make me smile and laugh, and they keep me on my toes! Being around them allows me to learn and exercise patience, loving-kindness, compassion, humility and a whole lot more–like the latest trends, YouTube discoveries, and even corny funny jokes, among others! But seriously, if you take time to listen to them–whether they have problems or they just want to tell you about a new toy or gadget–you’ll surely be a blessing. Some of them just need someone in their lives who will listen.

Here’s MY challenge to you today: find someone younger than you and strike up a conversation. Be a blessing…and you’ll be surprised that you just might walk away feeling more blessed!

One response to “I ♥ the youth! (DAY 1 of the 30-Day Blog Challenge)

  1. Go, go, go! Goodluck, Liz, and have fun! :) You’ll have lots to write about for sure!

Leave a Reply

