What’s a “small group” and why would having one work for me?

Every Wednesday night, if you visit McDonald’s along Julia Vargas, across Silver City Mall, you’ll see a big group of 15-30 people laughing, sharing, listening, and talking about life. Maybe some of you are thinking, “Gee, my friends and I do that all the time.” Possibly, but there’s something different about hanging out with a group of people with a common desire to not just live life but live life to the MAX! And in order to truly live our lives the way we were meant to live them, we have to keep seeking our true purpose. We have to keep going back to our Creator. We have to keep going back to God. That’s what sets a small group apart.

Is a small group the same as bible study? I guess the best way to answer that would be to say that, sure, we talk about the Bible, but we also make it relevant and practical so it can be applied to our lives.

NOT YOUR TYPICAL SMALL GROUP

This is what our "not-so-small group" looks like!

I first started joining a small group in October of 2006. At that time, I was juggling a lot of problems. I was confused about my career, I was confused about a guy, I was confused about my family, and I was confused about what I truly wanted out of life. My friend invited me to a Bible study over lunch, and since I had no other plans, I figured I’d give it a try. I thought this Bible study would be something like a religion class, where someone would lecture or preach about Bible characters and verses, or other things like that. But I was surprised to find that the topic was very practical. They talked about building faith in the midst of struggles. I totally related to that. So after that first session, I thought to myself, “Okay, that was different. Different, but nice.” And then I kept coming back.

I wish I could tell you all about the wonderful changes that happened to me in the last two years, but there’s too much to tell. I guess I’ll just say that going to that small group that day was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life. It changed the course of my life forever. And I want to give a shoutout to Jen Feliciano for inviting me to that fateful lunch and Lana Jalosjos for leading us that day. These two women played such a big part in getting me to where I am today. :)

Today, I co-lead the small group I mentioned up above. Our goal is to give people a venue to meet God, meet new friends, and be themselves. The people in our small group come from different walks of life: there are students, businessmen, actresses, hosts, dancers, singers, musicians, directors, etc. Most of us barely knew anyone in the group when we first joined. Paolo, one of the guys who goes to our small group, once commented that he loved our group because he felt at home amongst us because “everyone’s weird.” As he was saying that, two guys behind me were trying to create some boxing dance moves, two people were trying to converse in a British accent, and one girl was pretending her walking cane was a microphone. Yes, I guess I’ll have to concede…we tend to be weird. But I MUST add, we are weird…but very, very endearing. Haha! :)

All that being said…this is my appeal to you: maybe you’re at the place where I was two years ago. Are you juggling a lot of problems? Are you dealing with a lot of uncertainties? Do you find yourself walking in the dark? Come and drop by and maybe…just maybe…you’ll find rest. Or maybe you’re just looking for something different and something new. This may be just the thing that you’re looking for. Give it a try. :)

DISCLAIMER: Our group is not a typical small group! For starters, we’re not that small…haha! If you’re more comfortable with a smaller group, don’t be intimidated! A typical small group would not be more than 10 people and would likely be an all-guys or all-girls group. If that sounds better to you, I highly encourage you to find a group like that, or let me know, and I can help  find a group for you. I also highly suggest joining a small group with people around the same age as you. :)

Leave a Reply

